Estoril, Superpole-Race: Fantastic rescue of Toprak / Superbike World Championship

Toprak Razgatlioglu was within reach of his first victory in the 2022 World Superbikes in the Superpole race in Estoril, but after a difficult moment, the Yamaha star finished in second place after Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki).

It rained in Estoril the night from Saturday to Sunday. The warm-up for the Superbike World Championship on Sunday morning at 9 a.m. local time took place on a wet track. The cards were shuffled to the Superpole race two hours later.

The 10-sprint race was introduced in 2019. The name comes from the fact that the result is included in the start schedule for the second Superbike race. The top 9 receive up to 12 World Cup points and occupy the first nine grid positions, the other rankings according to Saturday’s Superpole.

At the beginning of the Superpole race, the asphalt dried out more and more, it was still wet next to the ideal line. Pirelli hoped that many pilots would choose the new SCQ tires for the Superpole race, but the wet and cool track meant that nothing came of it. Still, only Michael Rinaldi (Ducati) and Iker Lecuona (Honda) chose mid-front tires, while the rest chose slicks front and rear.

In front, Toprak Razgatlioglu (Yamaha) and Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki) quickly pulled away and equalized for the win. The Yamaha rider went into the final lap with a good lead, but was only just able to avoid a crash in the harassment. Rea was not long in overtaking the world champion and got the victory ahead of Razgatlioglu. Álvaro Bautista finished third, 4.9 seconds left.

Honda again showed a happy performance with Iker Lecuona, the Spaniard even challenged Bautista at times, but then had to settle for fourth place. Best BMW driver was Scott Redding in 7th place.

The race was overshadowed by numerous falls. Marvin Fritz (Yamaha) was among those caught in the first place.

This is how the race went:

Start: Razgatlioglu ahead of Rea, Redding, Bautista and Locatelli in the first turn. Mahias, Fritz and Vierge fall independently of each other.

Round 1: Razgatlioglu and Rea 0.6 s ahead of Bautista and Redding. Lecuona in 5th place.

Round 2: Rea takes the lead. Lecuona with the fastest lap in 1: 38.443 min. past Redding in 4th place.

Round 3: Top 3 within 0.5 seconds, but the fastest man is still Lecuona at 1: 38.073 min.

4th round: Rea and Razgatlioglu (1: 37.371 min) now 1.6 s ahead of Bautista, who has Lecuona on the back wheel. fall Baz.

Round 5: Sale with the fastest race in 1: 37.246 min. by 0.3 seconds ahead of Razgatlioglu. Autumn Laverty

Round 6: Razgatlioglu sets the fastest race pace in 1: 36.926 min. Bautista is trying to secure third place against Lecuona. Autumn Mercado.

Round 7: Razgatlioglu brakes past Rea at the end of straight. Rea must run a wide line and lose 0.8 seconds on the Turks.

Round 8: Razgatlioglu 0.8 s in front of Rea. The pitch becomes drier and Lecuona (4th) loses contact with Bautista (3rd). Lining (10.) rinses it further and further forward.

Round 9: Rea does not give up and sets the fastest lap in 1: 36.801 min. Bautista 5.2 seconds after. Fores (9th) grabs Bassani and can still catch up with Rinaldi in 8th place.

Last round: Razgatlioglu almost falls, Rea slips through and wins. Bautista 3., Lecuona 4., Redding 7.

Result Superbike World Championship: Estoril, Superpole-Race
position driver motorcycle time
1. Jonathan Rea Kawasaki
2. Toprak Razgatlioglu Yamaha + 0.174 sec
3. Alvaro Bautista Ducati + 4,925
4. Iker Lecuona Honda + 7,050
5. Andrea Locatelli Yamaha + 8,240
6. Alex Lowes Kawasaki + 8,684
7. Scott Redding bmw + 10,293
8. Michael Rinaldi Ducati + 29,516
9. Xavi Fores Ducati + 29,541
10 Axel Bassani Ducati + 32,114
11. Kohta Nozane Yamaha + 32,141
12. Christopher Ponsson Yamaha + 52,258
13. Isaac Vinales Kawasaki + 53,209
14 Leandro Mercado Honda + 55,481
15 Luca Bernardi Ducati > 1 min
16 Hafiz Syahrin Honda > 1 min
17 Oliver King Kawasaki > 1 min
out Eugene Laverty bmw
out Loris Baz bmw
out Xavi Vierge Honda
out MarvinFritz Yamaha
out Lucas Mahias Kawasaki

Status Superbike World Championship 2022 after 8 of 36 races
position driver motorcycle Points
1. Alvaro Bautista Ducati 141
2. Jonathan Rea Kawasaki 119
3. Toprak Razgatlioglu Yamaha 93
4. Andrea Locatelli Yamaha 73
5. Iker Lecuona Honda 66
6. Michael Rinaldi Ducati 52
7. Xavi Vierge Honda 41
8. Alex Lowes Kawasaki 41
9. Axel Bassani Ducati 34
10 Loris Baz bmw 34
11. Scott Redding bmw 30
12. Garrett Gerloff Yamaha 25
13. Philipp Oettl Ducati 15
14 Lucas Mahias Kawasaki 14
15 Michael van der Mark bmw 11
16 Eugene Laverty bmw 11
17 Ilya Mikhalchik bmw 9
18 Roberto Tamburini Yamaha 9
19 Luca Bernardi Ducati 9
20 Christopher Ponsson Yamaha 8
21 Xavi Fores Ducati 6
22 Leon Haslam Kawasaki 3
23 Kohta Nozane Yamaha 2
24 Leandro Mercado Honda 1

Leave a Comment