All about energy yoga

What effect does Kundalini Yoga have on body and soul?

The goal of the teaching is gradual to open all the seven chakras of the body, to let the life energy flow eventually and to achieve the ultimate enlightenment and opening of the third eye. In the Kundalini practice, the energy centers are opened to create more awareness and to get to know the true self, the so-called “Sat Nam”.

At the same time you learn how Dealing with stress in everyday life and accept things as they come. Studies have confirmed that Kundalini Yoga helps reduce stress and can even overcome depression.

Not only the mind but also the body is challenged in Kundalini Yoga. The dynamic movements make you sweat, stimulate your circulation and also train your flexibility. To have the different Kriya mental and physical effects and usually follows a specific purpose, depending on which chakra is treated in that exercise series. The seven chakras connect the vertical main energy stream. Depending on its location, each chakra affects a specific area of ​​the body:

  1. Muladhara Chakra (rodchakra): Located at the base of the spine, this chakra focuses on the rectum, spine, and bones. It affects basic confidence, security and stability and relieves anxiety and nervousness.
  2. Svadhistana Chakra (Sacral Chakra): Located just below the navel, this chakra is associated with emotion, creativity and sexuality. Self-doubt and pessimism, but also migraines, bladder infections or kidney stones are typical symptoms related to the sacral chakra.
  3. Manipura Chakra (navlechakra): Located just above the navel, this chakra revolves around self-confidence. Opening it gives you confidence and courage.
  4. Anahata Chakra (Heart Chakra): This chakra is at heart level. When there is fear of rejection, coldness and detachment, it can be opened and then give love and empathy.
  5. Vishudda Chakra (throat chakra): This chakra is located around the larynx. If the chakra is disturbed, it is difficult to speak, one is more introverted and sore throat and tinnitus can also be symptoms. When opened, communication and self-expression become much easier.
  6. Ajna Chakra (Pande Chakra): This chakra is located between the eyes. It is about cognition and visualization, when it is open you have a good intuition and also improve your imagination and concentration. If it is blocked, you often have headaches or eye problems.
  7. Sahasrara Chakra (Krone Chakra): This chakra is located on the crown of the head. It focuses on the connection to the spiritual, and when it is open, one feels in harmony with the world.

For whom is it suitable?

Basically, Kundalini Yoga suitable for any yogi. If you want to have more spirituality, reduce stress and expand your horizons for the ancient Indian teachings, you have come to the right place. Kundalini is best for anyone who is willing to open their mind and awaken the sleeping energies in their body.

If you are looking for a sweaty fitness workout, this type of yoga is not the place for you. Although asanas (movement exercises) also help to improve flexibility and strength, you hardly burn as many calories as with HIIT.

Kundalini Yoga is also suitable for Yogis at all entry levels and you need no prior knowledge. However, it is important that you devote yourself to practice and try to extinguish the thoughts. Otherwise, the exercises that sometimes require a little getting used to, where you, for example, point like a dog or sing a certain mantra, can be experienced as unpleasant.

How does a Kundalini Yoga class work?

There is not one Kundalini Yoga. This style has more than 20 different shapes and manifestations that have different approaches to making the energies flow. There are devices that trigger various blockages and can help with eg sleep problems, stress or migraines.

But the so-called Fire breathing and “Sat Nam”, a mantra sung together. The class also consists of different. Pranayama (breathing exercises), asanas (physical movements), meditations, mantras and bandhas (inner concentration points). A device might look like this:

  1. Meditation with the mantras “Ong Namo Guru Dev Namo” followed by “Ad Gureh Nameh” sung
  2. Warm up with classic exercises like cat-cow
  3. Kriya (exercise series) with various asanas
  4. Shavasana, body pose, a resting phase
  5. Concluding meditation with another mantra sung, often in combination with mudras (hand positions)
  6. Finally, sing the mantra “Sat Nam” three times

Clothes and accessories: what you need

Leave a Comment